• 5 star ratingFactual, informative and funny Les is the font of all knowledge when it comes to Shetland and he’s funny too! Super time with him and would recommend anytime at all.

    Brightwatertraveller
    28/05/2019

    5 star ratingEnjoyable tour We were part of a six person group on a one day port visit to Lerwick. Les Sinclair was our guide and he provided us with an interesting and at times humorous half day tour of the south mainland. Les was punctual in collecting us at the harbour and had us back in Lerwick in good time to get a feel for the town. Highlights of the tour were visits to Scalloway Castle, the Crofthouse Museum and the dramatic and wild Shetland scenery. Les gave us an interesting insight to living in Shetland and its history. He also has some interesting and funny stories regarding the excellent TV series "Shetland" and his walk-on roles in several episodes. More

    wilyi Avatar
    wilyi
    05/11/2018

    5 star ratingWhole day tour of mainland shetland The tour was excellent in all respects. Content was expertly tailored to to our requiirements ( a mix of history and places where scenes in the Shetland series had been shot. Les, our Tour Guide, was extremely knowledgeable and all his information was delivered with a voice and humour that you would never tire of listening to.

    Sherpa47658310163 Avatar
    Sherpa47658310163
    01/05/2019

    5 star ratingSimply the best guide ever!!! Our personalized tour with Roundabout Shetland was the highlight of our visit to Shetland. Les gave us a tour from Lerwick through the northern Isles of Yell and Unst, all the way to a view of Muckle Flugga lighthouse. Among the many bits of fascinating information we learned, was the the lighthouse was built by Robert Louis Stevenson's father and uncle, and that young Robbie visited Unst many times during construction and was quite fond of the island. It becomes even more interesting when you realize that if you turn the map of Unst upside down, it bears a striking resemblance to the map of Treasure Island. As a native Shetlander, former history teacher, standup comic, and generally wonderful guy, Les gave us an experience we'll never forget. I can't recommend Roundabout Shetland highly enough! More

    shoutingthomas
    07/08/2019

    5 star ratingExcellent Jimmy Perez Tour We took the "Jimmy Perez" tour with Les Sinclair when a friend and I visited Shetland and it was a great tour. Les was very knowledgeable about the island and took us to many of the filming locations from the Shetland TV Series. He was also an extra in one of the seasons. He was very knowledgeable about other aspects of the island and was a great story teller. We asked him other questions about the island including the Shetland Bus and he was able to tell us all about it. I would recommend this tour for any Shetland TV Series viewers. Thank you Les for a great day

    Sherry W
    25/06/2019
  • 5 star ratingExcellent Jimmy Perez Tour We took the "Jimmy Perez" tour with Les Sinclair when a friend and I visited Shetland and it was a great tour. Les was very knowledgeable about the island and took us to many of the filming locations from the Shetland TV Series. He was also an extra in one of the seasons. He was very knowledgeable about other aspects of the island and was a great story teller. We asked him other questions about the island including the Shetland Bus and he was able to tell us all about it. I would recommend this tour for any Shetland TV Series viewers. Thank you Les for a great day

    Myduckie
    25/06/2019

    5 star ratingAnn Cleeve’s/DI Perez & BBC Shetland Tour and Yell & Unst Tour Two amazing days with Les! His knowledge and love of Shetland is deep and my sister had the benefit of this on our tours with him. As fans of the TV series ‘Shetland’it was exciting to see the locations and to discuss the story lines with Les.

    Our day in Yell and Unst was also an incredible day of sights and history. Our trip to Shetland wouldn’t have been so memorable if we had not taken the tours in Les’ “traveling classroom”!

    Libby M Avatar
    Libby M
    07/10/2018

    5 star ratingEnjoyable tour We were part of a six person group on a one day port visit to Lerwick. Les Sinclair was our guide and he provided us with an interesting and at times humorous half day tour of the south mainland. Les was punctual in collecting us at the harbour and had us back in Lerwick in good time to get a feel for the town. Highlights of the tour were visits to Scalloway Castle, the Crofthouse Museum and the dramatic and wild Shetland scenery. Les gave us an interesting insight to living in Shetland and its history. He also has some interesting and funny stories regarding the excellent TV series "Shetland" and his walk-on roles in several episodes.

    wilyi Avatar
    wilyi
    05/11/2018

    Really Good Trip Les is a very knowledgeable guide who plans his trips well and covers an amazing amount of information regarding Shetland, its history and its customs. It was a very enjoyable experience.

    Jean Avatar
    Jean
    15/05/2019

    5 star ratingLes Sinclair Les Sinclair was an excellent guide and driver. We had two days with him in Shetlands. His knowledge of history, culture, geography and people exceeded expectations. We went from Sumburgh to Unst. He even included a visit to a delightful vignette re a family story that turned into seasonal art installation. Many, many thanks.

    Ann and Ben J Avatar
    Ann and Ben J
    16/08/2018
  • 5 star ratingWonderful ship excursions A lovely drive through the countryside. Learned a lot about the area in a very relaxing way. And had the best fish and chips in town before returning to the ship. Amazing experience.

    peridot52
    30/07/2019

    5 star ratingExcellent Day Out! I visited Shetland with my parents in Aug 2018, and we had some tour plans fall through. We managed to get Les at the last minute for the Unst and Yell tour, and what a stroke of luck! It was like travelling around with an old family friend, person who just loves where he is and knows all about it. Despite terrible weather we just had a great day and managed to visit all we could in a limited time - highly recommended!

    997premam Avatar
    997premam
    22/02/2019

    5 star ratingGreat Day Around Shetland! We had a wonderful tour with Les. His exhaustive knowledge of the Shetlands, including being an extra on the tv show, Shetland, combined with his jovial personality make a great package. He took us to numerous off the beaten path spots, each with a great history, which gave us an unexpected understanding of this wonderful place. We were especially interested in the WWII history of the Shetland Bus and he made sure to take us to sights relating to that. Lunch in Scalloway and the Scalloway Museum were special treats. Spend the day with Les for a unique, enjoyable, and enlightening experience.

    Happy_Travellers2
    19/06/2019

    5 star ratingExcellent Birthday gift Spending a day with Les Sinclair was by gift to my husband for his birthday. I suspected my history-loving man would enjoy a guide who was a history teacher. I was right. Les just made the environs of his homeplace come alive.

    Dreamer670375 Avatar
    Dreamer670375
    20/10/2018

    5 star ratingGreat & Informative Tour Les picked us (3 couples), up at our cruise ship dock and started our tour around Lerwick before driving us around the main Shetland Island. He is a retired teacher with firm roots in the Shetland Islands - he even showed us where his father & grandfather lived. He was very well versed in the history and attractions as he drove us around the island. He showed us places where the large buses cannot drive and would stop at any time when we wanted to take photos or see something up closer. We had a great stop at a lighthouse with a small cafe for coffee and fresh scones with jam & cream - YUMMM. We highly recommend Les and his tour - you will not be disappointed. Keith & Ann - Newfoundland

    TheRockMan Avatar
    TheRockMan
    14/10/2018
  • Unst Absolutely amazing day trip. Would definitely go again!

    Anna Avatar
    Anna
    13/04/2019

    5 star ratingLocal eyes, local stories in Esheness We really enjoyed the time with Les. Being visitors unfamiliar with the roads, having Les do the driving left us to see all around us. He had many back stories to the places we were seeing, knew the photogenic places to stop, and kept us safe on the cliffs. We laughed and talked like we had known him for years. A great experience.

    thelmakessel Avatar
    thelmakessel
    01/05/2019

    5 star ratingBeyond our wildest dreams An outstanding day visiting the history sites of mainland Shetland to the south mainland and Jarlshof

    mholla525842
    10/09/2019

    5 star ratingYell and Unst I had an absolutely wonderful day trip to Yell and Unst with Les. Happy to chat away and full of knowledge and anecdotes and willing to accommodate any request where possible. I would thoroughly recommend Roundabout Shetland to everyone!

    Meedawz Avatar
    Meedawz
    11/04/2019

    Great way to both see the sights and get the story Small tours are a great way to see the both the headline acts and the support - Les was great at pointing out the wee stuff we'd have missed en route to the signposted destinations. Easy to ask questions and get loads of info back without feeling we were being talked at. Would have loved to have been able to fit in the Yell and Unst trip as well but that will need to wait for a return visit!

    Alison Avatar
    Alison
    31/01/2019
  • 5 star ratingExcellent way to get to know the islands This organization offers multiple tours of diverse length, complexity and required physical effort. The local guides are quite knowledgeable and entertaining. Most tours take in some of the most interesting archaeological sites, but also local curiosities and favored spots. You can participate in a group tour or select a private, tailored tour.

    Gabriel H
    20/09/2019

    5 star ratingWell worth the money I took two tours with Les, for the first I was the only customer and we went south, Les was informative and very interesting in terms of giving the history and facts of our journey. The second was with three others out to Eshaness via so many point of interest. His knowledge of Shetland is wide and interspersed with family connections and interesting stories and facts. I recommend Les as a guide, he is respectful and accommodates all requests possible, his tours are full of detail and bring Shetland, past and present to life. Any future trips to Shetland fir me will include these tours.

    GoPlaces42769962596
    14/06/2019

    5 star ratingAmazing history Thank you Les, your knowledge of the local history of Shetland and it’s people was very interesting and entertaining.

    Thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

    Thanks again

    Richard

    Wander551408 Avatar
    Wander551408
    01/05/2019

    5 star ratingFactual, informative and funny Les is the font of all knowledge when it comes to Shetland and he’s funny too! Super time with him and would recommend anytime at all.

    Brightwatertraveller
    28/05/2019

    Highly Recommended This was a relaxed yet informative tour of both many interesting aspects of Shetland history and culture and filming sites of the wonderful "Shetland" TV series, which drew our attention to Shetland in the first place. Les is not only an entertaining guide, but also a bit player in an episode of the series! The highlight was the final stop, which provided a dramatic capstone to the tour.

    Jack, Canada Avatar
    Jack, Canada
    14/06/2019
  • Stunning This was a long day with lots of driving, however, the areas covered were stunning and the local knowledge both from the past and the present made the tour interesting and relevant. The scenery was stunning the variety of stops great. I would take this trip again its was very well planned and individual requests catered for in terms of stopping at various places. Highly recommended.

    Jean Avatar
    Jean
    18/06/2019

    5 star ratingInformative and entertaining Les was an informative and entertaining guide. His local knowledge enabled us to go off the beaten tourist track and to learn about the way of life in Shetland than would otherwise have been possible. We thoroughly enjoyed our morning with him.

    Penelope C Avatar
    Penelope C
    13/08/2018

    5 star ratingFantastic Tour of Scalloway We recently were on a cruise which stopped at Lerwick. Les, our guide, promptly picked us up at the port and we were on our way across the Shetland Island to Scalloway. Les and his family has lived here for generations and provided us with historical and cultural information. We stopped at several spectacular locations for photo ops and historical interest. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Would highly recommend Les as your guide to the Shetland Islands.

    Debbie E
    05/10/2019